Aunt Millie or The Longest Quilt I’ve ever made

It seems like forever ago that I started my Aunt Millie’s quilt, you know that pattern by those most wonderful Piece o Cake Ladies?  My idea was to see what colors went with brown…to exercise my color muscles.

It was a great applique project that I just loved, and almost everyone in our little group was doing it too, which made it extra fun, to see the progress, to see how different they all are, etc.

So I finished mine and for a whole host of reasons, it took 2-1/2 years to get it machine quilted.  But finally in December, the most talented and wonderful, Margaret Gunn quilted it for me and oh my goodness, what a beautiful job she did on it.

This one was at the Quilt Fest this weekend, and it warmed my heart to watch people come over and admire it, and lean in close to see Margaret’s work, and mine too…

Image

here….I’ll let you lean in close…

Image

this quilt was certainly a journey, in many ways…..but soooo worth the trip!!

hugs and stitches!

*megan*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aunt Millie or The Longest Quilt I’ve ever made

  1. Taryn says:

    Thanks for the close look at the quilting. It is wonderful and your colors are so vibrant against that brown fabric. Wish I could have seen it in person!

  2. LoriD says:

    It is gorgeous! The applique is wonderful and the quilting really brings out the best in this quilt.

  3. Michelle says:

    My most favoritist Aunt Millie ever. It looks so beautiful quilted! Congrats!

  4. Pingback: Our real life quilt show… | Sewing in Circles

Leave a Reply

